Blog

History of The UWFA

If you'd like to know more about how The University of Winnipeg Faculty Association came to be or about the legacy of former United College professor Harry Crowe, there are new posts in the 'About Us' section.

Message from UWFA on Dec. 6 Day of Remembrance and Action

Dear Members, Today marks the 32nd anniversary of the antifeminist mass shooting at l'École polytechnique in Montreal. This heinous and misogynistic attack left fourteen women dead and ten women and four men injured. While 32 years have seen some change in the...

UWFA Fall 2021 General Meeting

UWFA will hold its Fall Annual General Meeting by Zoom on Nov. 22, 2021 from 12:30-1:20PM. We will provide an agenda and minutes from our last AGM closer to the date. Please make plans to come and hear about the work of Council and Executive since last spring.

2021-22 UWFA Council Meeting Dates

All meetings are from 1230-120. Fall Wednesday, Sept. 29 Friday, Oct. 29 Friday, Nov. 19 Wednesday, Dec. 8 Winter Wednesday, Jan. 19 Friday, Feb. 18 Friday, Mar. 18 Wednesday, Apr. 6 Spring Wednesday, May 11 Wednesday, Jun. 15...

We need wide ranging and sustainable funding in post secondary education in Manitoba. Instead, the PC govt has cut post secondary grants substantially since it came to office. For university education to be accessible, innovative, and world leading, it needs proper funding. https://twitter.com/winnipegnews/status/1527624688268152832

UWFA Members! It's...warm? Outside? So we'll be heading to The Forks later today and you should join us. Particulars are in your inbox! ☀️☀️☀️

Please to represent @theuwfa and my colleagues at the 92nd @CAUT_ACPPU Council. Looking forward to celebrating the achievements of the academic labour movement and discussing the challenges ahead!